Cattitude Podcast

The article, “Sound Matters,” written by Heidi McKee was extremely eye-opening. We practically submerge ourselves in sounds without even realizing it. As I type this blog post, I hear the clicking of the buttons on the keyboard, the music on Pandora blasting through my headphones, the fan blowing in the background, the iconic ding ding of my cell phone notifying me of a new text message, and a door slamming shut notifying me that my solitude is no more. McKee illustrates a similar experience in her publication, and proves that there is never truly pure silence. It is a peculiar phenomenon. 

I am no stranger to podcasts. In fact, I have seven or eight different series on iTunes and Sound Cloud that I listen to on a weekly basis. It is a fantastic alternative to listening to the radio in the car. I can simply pop in my headphones on my commute to Miami and keep listening (commercial free!) until I get to class. This is basically a morning ritual. I have an hour and fifteen minute drive to school, and a twenty to thirty minute walk to my classes…needless to say, I am thankful for the podcasts. After listening to This American Life, I decided to research podcasts relevant to my focal topic of declawing cats. There is an audio series called Cattitude that is hosted by Tom Dock. Episode 22 discussed the controversy among declawing cats. I really liked his approach to this issue. He gave an objective and unbiased overview of the procedure and merely reported his own experience with both clawed and declawed cats. It is the listener’s own decision to take a stand for or against this controversy after being given the cold-hard facts. 

The podcast itself was rhetoric galore. When you first press play, you are introduced to an rather strange opening. I didn’t know whether to laugh or squint my eyes in confusion. Needless to say, it definitely caught my attention. After Dock introduced himself and made a few minor announcements, the first audio advertisement appeared. It was something about quality tuna for cats, but I’m not quite sure. There were also several questionable audio design choices that stood out. For instance, there was music playing softly in the background while he spoke to the audience. I have noticed this in a lot of different web series and podcasts, but I never really understood why people do this. Obviously it is important, since there is almost always some sort of music or sound effect being played in the background of important scenes in movies and television. It would be interesting to see people’s reactions if all of the background noise was removed from technology for a day.

Anyway, I feel that it is customary to end these research posts with cat videos. I present you with, “Happiness Finds Grumpy Cat.”

Leave a Reply

